16 Comments

Darkest day in the history of Mumbai and India

  • 26/11/2008 will go down as one of the darkest days in the history of Mumbai and India. Life in the country%u2019s financial capital remains paralysed as terrorists hold the city under siege. In a heinous terror attack that the country has seen in recent times, Mumbai came under an unprecedented night attack.

  • Terrorists equipped with heavy machine guns, including AK-47s and grenades to strike at the city’s most high-profile targets- the Chhattrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) rail terminus; the landmark Taj Hotel at the Gateway and the luxury Oberoi Trident at Nariman Point; killing at least 101 and sending hundreds of injured to hospital.

  • By midnight, the city was shaken. Mobile networks got jammed as anxious relatives made frantic calls, SMSes. The police were asking people not to venture out and stay home. The Army and the NSG had been called out to lend a helping hand to Mumbai Police. By Thursday morning, the Navy had also been sounded out. For Mumbai and the rest of India, the nightmare had just begun as the Army, Navy and the police trooped in to rescue the hostages.

16 comments on “Darkest day in the history of Mumbai and India

  1. I remember. Tragic. Are you from Mumbai Soundarya ?

  2. Truley a tragic few days, great sketches though..:-)

  3. Worldwide news. Let us never forget what harm evil people do!

  4. Hey, I just stopped in to visit your blog and thought I’d say thank you.

  5. this is very finely drawn…..it looks amazing.
    I remember 26/11 ……we were watching match between India and England ….and then suddenly we heard this horrific news.

  6. Absolutely amazing sketch – wow. Very beautiful memorial to such a tragedy. We have an office in Delhi and I remember hearing our engineers sharing the details of this horrible event. We also had an office near the subway bombing in Madrid and the World Trade Center towers in New York – it was truly a decade of devastation. So many innocent lives……..

    • really a decade of devastation.thanks for your kind words.
      I thinks you have to inform council against terrorism about where you have offices except these you have explained here, it will help them to control future devastation’s (joking).you are really unlucky with such situations,may God protect everyone from such conditions.

  7. I truly appreciate the beauty and depth of this sketching and the other you’ve posted recently. I’m looking forward to what you will share next!

    I suppose you’re aware of the terrible shooting incident which recently happened in Wisconsin, USA, a state neighboring my state, in which six were killed by a lone racist gunman at a Sikh temple. I saw that five of the six who died had Singh as part of their name, which further saddened me and brought you to my mind. I don’t know if you means that you have a particular family or religious connection to the victims, but regardless, I wish to express my deepest sympathies to you and all affected in any way by this tragedy. I hope also that the people of India, and especially the Sikhs, know that people like the murderer who perpetrated this event are a very tiny minority in our country, and the vast majority of Americans are shocked, saddened, and outraged by this event. May God bless you!

    • thanks Michael you have such a sweet heart and showing your soft feelings towards us.I am aware of this unfortunate shooting incident.I am also deeply saddened with the crisis like this.I hate religious war.I also express my condolence to those who are killed in this tragic incident.
      I have Singh as my last name because I am a Hindu.Sikh religion start from converting Hindus to Sikh, that’s why they have Singh as their last name too.Our traditions met but these are somehow different though.
      thanks again to you.good day.

  8. I’m really inspired along with your writing abilities as neatly as with the layout for your blog. Is that this a paid subject or did you customize it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to look a nice weblog like this one today..

  9. Hii saundraya n sneh …. I saw ur all paintings and all are very beautiful . I love ur all paintings .

  10. hi. would love to buy this sketch. pls reach me at my email

Leave a Reply

